Memolane emails

MemolaneA while back I noted Memolane which is a website that pulls in all your social content from the web and presents it in a beautiful timeline to explore. You can look back over photos from Flickr and Instagram, tweets, last.fm music and more. It is great to wander back and remind yourself of your life. Depending on your privacy settings others can wander back too.

Shortly after Memolane came out of beta, Facebook announced its Timeline profile view, which — along with imports from Flickr, Instagram and Spotify, lets you wander back and remind yourself of your life. Depending on your privacy settings…

For me Memolane has been a site I occasionally like to visit but no more. But a few weeks ago it started sending me emails with highlights from my timeline a few years ago. The emails took me back to Iceland and Vietnam, and my tweets on Skins (first generation). It’s lovely seeing photos. Seeing tweets makes me cringe. Either way I look forward to seeing the emails.

The only flaw is it needs decent content from the current day in a previous year. I presume that is why I’m mainly getting emails from 4 years ago.

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Dropbox Automator

Towards the end of last year I noted that Box was giving new users 50Gb of cloud storage for free. At the time I thought it would be great for off-site storage for my photos, music and things like tax paperwork. Sadly the limited tools Box gives free users meant I didn’t really use it (plus iTunes Match came along to look after my music).

I started to use Dropbox for tax stuff and photos but I was aware the limited free storage would cause me problems one day. Also I didn’t want to keep these files on my laptop.

I think the answer to my problems is Dropbox Automator. It follows the ifttt model (which I’ve also previously noted) and lets you set up rules for actions. By connecting it to my Dropbox and Box accounts, Automator copies files I place in defined Dropbox directories to Box ones. So, when I save a bank statement into a Dropbox folder on my laptop, Automator copies it to Box. As Automator works in the cloudiverse I don’t need to do anything. I’m then free to delete the file from Dropbox safe in the knowledge Box has it. (It is a lot simpler in practice.)

Dropbox Automator can do other things. It can convert files, send them to a Kindle, upload to Facebook/Flickr, manipulate images, email files, zip them and more.

It is still early days from the project and the company behind it, Wappwolf, are improving it all the time. Worth keeping an eye on.

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Philadelphia with Cadbury

Philadelphia with CadburyWhen Kraft bought Cadbury there were all sorts of predictions of what the food giant would do with the beloved British brand. Would they move production out of the UK? Would they run it into the ground and replace it with their cheaper Milka brand?

What nobody predicted is they’d produce a Cadbury version of their Philadelphia soft cheese. Chocolate cheese — it is a taste I could not imagine. So when I saw a BOGOF offer I had to purchase.

I can confirm it is basically a chilled chocolate spread with a hint of soft cheese and it works. I had it on a muffin by itself and with banana. I’ve never gone in for spreads so probably will not be purchasing again but I will happily finish the pots I bought.

