Foursquare

This week marked two years of me checking in on Foursquare. In that time I’ve checked in over 1,500 times, collected 22 badges and I’m mayor of 15 places. The thing is I still cannot say why I use it.

I guess the main reason is I like recording the places I go to and I like the feeling of checking into lots of places when I’m on a fun day out. I also take some pleasure from being at the top of the points chart among my friends.

One personal quirk is I actually don’t like people ‘following me’ because I feel guilty about bombarding people with my checkins. I admit that on the rare occasion I am somewhere cool I like to show off a bit, and I do use it to say when I’m going on a trip. But my arrival at yet another pub cannot be interesting to anyone. However I do like seeing where my close friends are.

I guess the truth is I’ve got a bit of an addiction. And I suppose it is harmless.

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

ifttt

If you haven’t heard of ifttt then you will not know it stands for ‘if this then that’. You also will not know is it is a webapp where you can set up actions based on what happens on other webapps. For example if someone tweets you can get ifttt to send you an email.

I signed up early for ifttt when it was still in beta. Back then it didn’t connect with many apps. At the time all I could think to use it for was said twitter>email. But recently I noticed it had come out of beta, connects with 13 apps and has a new thing called recipes.

Recipes are actions created by other people which anyone can use — and there’s some useful ones there. I now use ifttt to:
1. Copy my Instagram photos to my Dropbox
2. Copy any Facebook photos I’m tagged in to my Dropbox
3. Copy my shared items on Google Reader to Read It Later
4. Tweet when I share items on Google Reader
5. Save all my Foursquare checkins to a private Google Calendar

It is the last one I like most. I can now look back through a calendar of my checkins and remind myself where I went. ifttt has given me another reason to use Foursquare.

(Update: 3 and 4 will not work now Google Reader has changed sharing to Google+)

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Ghostbusters

I went to see Ghostbusters on the big screen at the weekend. I loved the film as a kid but hadn’t seen it for ages. The surprising thing was how simple the story was. GB see a ghost in library, female lead introduced, GB bust a ghost in a hotel, NYC gets overrun with ghosts, female lead gets possessed by big bad, annoying government man causes problems, GB get put in jail, hell breaks out, GB get out of jail and go to take on big bad, GB kill big bad and rescue the girl.

Now maybe they still make films this simple and I don’t see them. But having watched both parts of the final Harry Potter film/book I wonder if Hollywood has got too complicated.

