Downcast

I do like listening to podcasts. But I’ve become increasingly annoyed by having to sync my iPhone with my Mac every day to update them. iOS5 is offering many things but an improvement on that isn’t one of them. So I was pleased to discover an app that downloads and manages podcasts on my phone.

For £1.49 you get an app that makes it easy to search for podcasts (or cut and paste in the feed URL), checks for updates when you open it, playlists, sleep timer and (rather nicely) will start streaming the podcast while it downloads.

The only downside is that the podcasts aren’t saved locally (useful to keep BBC ones after the timeout) but I never listen to old ones anyway.

Downcast website
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

London Loop

Enfield Lock

I do like to get out of the city and go for a walk. Time Out’s Country Walks near London (Vols 1 & 2) have been a good source but they usually involve a good train ride away from the capital. Some though have included paths from the London Loop.

The Loop as the name suggests to a circular trail around London. It is 140 miles within the M25 that mixes countryside with bits of suburbia. I did Enfield Lock to Chigwell last week, with travel paid by my Oyster Card. To be honest the Enfield Lock start was grim with a little filled water channel. But then it opened out into Lee Valley Park and woodland which felt a long way from roads. (NB there was some walking along roads too.)

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

How to be a Retronaut

How to be a Retronaut

When it comes to museums I’m only really interested in the 20th Century stuff.  If I’m honest the walk through the Museum of London’s early galleries of Roman London didn’t do much for me.  Even the promise of recreation of the fire London didn’t excite.  But the new galleries of London over the last 100 years excited me.

This means How to be a Retronaut has me hooked.  It does lots of cool things but its long posts of photos  fascinate me.  Recently there’s been the construction of Disneyland, a 60s department store, and scenes from surrendered homes.

It’s a popular site with a few generic google ads which will not make it’s curator, Chris Wild, a lot of money.  But it is a fantastic showcase for skills and his day job – consulting for “archives, museums, brands and digital history”.  Far better than putting your CV on LinkedIn.

