Stella Creasy MP

Stella Creasy

Returning home late last night I wanted to know if looting had hit Walthamstow and if I’d need to be wary. I turned to Twitter (held up as the great realtime news source). Problem was tweets were predominantly rumour and exaggeration. There were reports of trouble in Walthamstow but at that point there hadn’t been. Once home there was a tweet about BHS being done in (true) that quickly turned into BHS on fire (not true).

Through all of this noise Walthamstow MP Stella Creasy was tweeting (and updating Facebook). To begin with she was assuring people nothing was happening and correcting those posting false information. Then when things did kick off she tweeted a warning to avoid the area and assured residents that looters where only targeting shops.

Once things calmed down (around 1am) she went out to see what had happened and reported back (apologising about not wanting to take out her camera phone). She continued to tweet replies and updates from trusted sources (usually the Police) until 4ish. Then started up again around 7ish.

Today she is touring around the areas affected, inviting anyone to come along and talk to her about their concerns.

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

PlainText

PlainText

I don’t have a fancy way of remembering things or making notes. For example, when collecting links and ideas before a holiday I usually just keep a text file of stuff on my desktop. And for things I’d find on my iPhone or iPad I’d email myself and add them later (if I remember).

Usefully I’ve found an app to make this all a bit easier. PlainText is a very lightweight app that lets you make/edit text files which are saved to Dropbox. Now I have PlainText on my iOS devices and Dropbox on my Mac I can add stuff whenever I want.

PlainText is free and has few bells and whistles. If you like bells or whistles you can buy WriteRoom.

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Frank’s Cafe and Campari Bar

Franks

Sadly this summer bar on top of a car park in Peckham has become a victim of its own success. When we went two years ago we were lucky to be able to eat. Lucky because the day’s menu had mostly sold out and they were improvising with what they had left. And lucky because this improvised food was gorgeous.

Every time we went last year we couldn’t get a seat to eat or the food was sold out. The best we managed was a fine sausage roll. But the drinks were cheap and view was amazing.

This year our visits have been met by a crowded bar. Admittedly the last time was a sunny Saturday night but the five-deep bar queue meant we couldn’t drink £3 pints of Meantime London Pale Ale (a price I note is close to what some pubs charge for a half of the stuff).

Pity it is so popular.

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

