Leon de Bruxelles

Looking for somewhere to eat near Covent Garden I found myself in the new Leon de Bruxelles this week. It promised amazing mussels and, as the first London restaurant from an established European chain, great quality. It did not deliver.

On sitting down we were told they had run out of mussels (and, given no one else had them, they must have run out much earlier). Since mussels are really all they do I cannot understand how that happened. But we stayed and chose from the small list of other dishes. Shortly after ordering, a basket of four small pieces of cold baguette was plonked down. At first I couldn’t work out why it looked wrong, then I realised there was no butter, bread knives or plates.

I ordered the Flemish Carbonnade Beef which sounded lovely and at £14 I was expecting it to be a substantial tasty stew. It was neither. After eating over half I found a hair in it.

It left me wondering if I should post a bad review somewhere, so potential customers would know what it was like (I don’t count this blog as reaching such people). But, as someone who uses TripAdvisor but takes the negative reviews with a large pinch of salt, I realised if I posted the above it would seem like I was making it up.

There were two saving points. The staff were nice and, thanks to tastecard, two mains, two sides and two drinks came to £22.

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Britain’s Got Talent Twitter hashtags

It is becoming the norm for TV programmes to put hashtags on screen at the start. The new series of Britain’s Got Talent is doing something different. It is putting a few well-placed hagtags during auditions that play on what you are watching. #nowwithwings when a performer extended his costume wings, #hottie when a swoonful young male singer took to the stage.

I have to admit I was initially sceptical. I instantly spotted a ploy to get these tags trending but dismissed them, thinking few people would use them. I was wrong on the second point. They were so popular that TweetDeck froze and terminally crashed when I tried to add them as a column.

Yes, they did trend worldwide. Given that Twitter’s trending algorithm makes it hard for a term to trend more than once it will mean that BGT trends every week. The clever bit will come if ITV monetise these hashtags.

There is a danger here though. These tags need to be used sparingly and only when there’s something worth tweeting about. If too many programmes use them and, especially, if they use them badly, the audience will be turned off by them.

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Zeebox

If you haven’t have heard of the Zeebox app, then it describes itself as “your TV sidekick” which you should use “while you watch TV” as it is “social, clever and fun”. It has multi-channel programme listings, a programme twitter stream, news, things called ‘Zeetags’ and it can change the channel of a few TVs.

It attracted a lot of TV industry buzz and BSkyB bought a 10% stake in January with a promise to integrate it into it’s mobile applications.

In the last week I’ve heard from two separate sources, who have accessed a (possibly hidden) part of its developer API, that it has hundreds of users at a time when it should have thousands (and thousands).

It doesn’t take a genius to see why it isn’t connecting with an audience. The only thing that is “social” is the twitter stream and for most programmes a twitter stream is a pretty boring list of mundane updates. I watched both The Voice and BGT with Zeebox on and saw little of interest. Meanwhile my own Twitter feed and the official accounts were “fun”.

It could be that Zeebox have something revolutionary planned. But right now I cannot see anything doing “social” and “fun” which isn’t Facebook and Twitter. That’s where your friends are and they are much more “fun” and “social” than strangers. If second screen is going to be about anything it will be participation (see Million Pound Drop) and there are not many programme formats that call for audience participation.

(Please note, I’m currently contracting at ITV. This blog contains my personal views and do not represent or reflect the opinions of ITV, or any of my previous employers or clients.)

